The Curse of the Chinese Chainsaw

/ The Curse of the Chinese Chainsaw #1  

astavakra

Tractor
Kubota L3400
Three years ago I was in the market for a decent but cheap limbing saw. I had several old 2.0 Sears/Poulans and I was tired of fiddling with them all the time and so I decided it was time for a change.
I wanted something CHEAP, light and reliable.

I finally found what I was looking for on EBay. It was a 52cc Chinese made chainsaw and it was only $135. What a deal! I was certainly smarter than all those suckers who were spending $200-400 on those name brands.
I was pretty excited when my shiny orange saw arrived. It was everything I was looking for. It started right up and I let it idle a good twenty minutes for break-in and the oiler worked well.

The first cut I made on a 2 inch limb two of the cutters broke. I have been using saws for twenty years and have cut through wire and hit rocks. I had never broken a cutter. Oh well, no big deal, I really wanted a 16 bar anyway and it matched up to a Husqvarna. New bar and chain $50. Also, the throttle lock spring and button popped out at some time. $6.
A few days later I heard a pinging noise. I thought one of the muffler screws had come loose. Then it locked up. I pulled the saw apart. One of the wrist pin clips had fallen out. The cylinder and piston were wrecked. Cylinder and piston $40. Throttle lock button and spring came out again. $6.
I had put a total of 3 tanks of fuel through it.
I began having a bad feeling about my 組ood deal? It was at this point I was between the point of stupidity and insanity. I usually know when to fold a hand, but I was determined to get my money out of this thing no matter what.
I got it running again. All went well for several tanks of fuel and then the thing began hunting at full throttle. I played around with the high idle screw, but couldn稚 get it right. New carb $25. Lost the throttle lock button again, to **** with it.