jinma 224 temp.

/ jinma 224 temp. #1  

TSMART

Silver Member
Tractor
jinma jm 224
Although my radiator is full and clean, and the fins have been blown out from the inside, AND theres a blue mesh type AC filter I installed in front of the radiator, the tractor gets hot, though very slowly. Battery location in front of the radiator is stupid IMO, but I am no engineer. I wonder just how much cooling that robs me of.

All winter long the temp gage stays around 80, but today in florida where I am using the finish mower, it was like 95 degrees. I try to keep the bucket up a little to increase air to the engine.

But when the weather is this hot, the temp gage slowly (within 2 hours) gets up just to short of the red zone, thats when I drop the RPMS for a while and shut her down. Happens very typically when its this hot, humid. 90 plus. Unfortunately, thats when the grass grows!

I have seen mods where folks poke holes in the cowl (hood) to get increase air flow, maybe I should do that, (would it make a big difference??) but what about changing thermostat when its very hot outside. Is it gonna be a wierd chinese thermostat??? or impossible for me to do??

/ jinma 224 temp. #2  
I think i would first make sure the temp gauge is correct, then have a look at this info, its not on the tractor but is on a diesel engine.
http://pages.prodigy.net/jforgione/MB_WW.html\
If the temp is correct and this dont help then I would think about moving the battery.

Walt

/ jinma 224 temp. #3  
How is your water level? Are you finding that you are slowly blowing water out the overflow tube? My Kama is losing water and slowly getting hot and after some expert advice on this forum I believe my problem is the head gasket leaking very slightly pressurizing the radiator. I tried to do a head retorque at 50 hrs but could not get the head bolts out. I am going to try again with my impact gun this weekend.

/ jinma 224 temp.