Snow New Jinma 160 snow blower used today for the first time.

/ New Jinma 160 snow blower used today for the first time. #1  

doxford jim

Veteran Member
Tractor
1959 MF-65 sold, 2007 Jinma 554 diesel.
Well, today being such a nice day, -4C and bright and sunny (all afternoon anyway) I thought I would try out the snow blower I bought to go with the new tractor.

At first I didn't think it would work too well as the height for the blower ipout shaft is 18" and the PTO output shaft 23" giving a 5" difference over a length of about 34". It just didn't look right. Anyhow, I went ahead and tried it and there was no problem with the PTO shaft - it worked well.

The blower, well that is another story. I have never used a PTO driven blower before so it has been a learning curve for me. One thing I found annoying is changing the shear pins/bolts. The original ones were just junk really and sheared as soon as the blower made contact with the snow. So for a while there I was pretty much chasing ghosts and replacing bolts. Once I had changed them all for grade 5 bolts, things settled down quite a bit. Spent quite a bit of time trying different gears etc. and found the best rpm was 720 - I don't have 1000rpm PTO. I guess the blower is probably built for the 1000rpm output. I didn't get a manual with it so everything I am doing is by guess work here. Also found that I needed to adjust the lift arms quite a bit to get the best postion overall.

I was able to shoot the snow some twenty feet or so, but no more than that. What do you other owners get when using your blower? I also found that I need to put up a sheet of clear plexiglass or lexan, to stop the snow making me a cold white colour!!!