Jinma 304 tractor was running with low pressure at idle. Now no pressure at all.

/ Jinma 304 tractor was running with low pressure at idle. Now no pressure at all. #1  

bgarretson

Tractor
jinma 304
My 304 has had low pressure when idling for a couple of weeks. When mowing of tilling at full RPM's the tractor was more or less fine. When I left idling the pressure would drop fairly low and the oil light would come on. (this all happened after the tractor warmed up)
Today as I was mowing and the pressure gauge dropped to 0. I pulled off the throttle and disengaged the PTO and the tractor died. I have started it up since and it will run but does not sound good. The change in the sound of the engine is subtle but at idle now the tractor dies. I have not moved it from where it sits and do not plan to until a conclusion is reached.
What may have happened?
What should I do?
I am a mechanical novice as you may be able to tell.
Thanks
Brian

/ Jinma 304 tractor was running with low pressure at idle. Now no pressure at all. #2  
You didn't mention engine oil, and it's not my intention to tarnish the seller. Whether you buy your tractor new or used, it's important to know up front what kind of oil is in the sumps. Don't know how it is these days, but not long ago they were still being shipped across the Pacific with used oil. Competent and responsible dealers knew enough to drain out the domestic Chinese crap, flush thoroughly, and replace with a quality aftermarket product. This applies to engines (to include cooling systems), gear boxes, and hydraulics.

If it's a used tractor, perhaps the previous owner put in the wrong engine oil. First off, they require diesel-rated engine oil. The same stuff you put in your gas-powered car simply won't do. 15W40 is typically recommended, and a lot of us like Rotella T. So on the chance you've got the wrong oil in the crankcase, change the oil and filter - then see if there are any positive results regarding pressure.