Dirt Moving Bulldozer blade cutting angle

/ Bulldozer blade cutting angle #1  

timbatrader

Silver Member
Tractor
YCT306S-S bulldozer Leyland 344 tractor, Mountain Raise MR926S wheel Loader, Hitachi 19U mini Excavator
I am having trouble controlling the depth of cut my blade takes My Yuchai YCT306S-S dozer has a six way blade so I can control every angle except the cutting angle.
On my Bobcat skid steer I can lift the front of the fourway bucket to leave a dozer blade by using the tilt function I can control the cutting angle to get a continuous push. On the dozer without control of the cutting angle the blade keeps digging in requiring me to back off leaving a series of divots rather than a smooth track.
One way to describe it would be to think of trying to chisel out a rebate in timber with the chisel the wrong way around the chisel keeps digging in.
As I am a timber machinist by trade I am thinking in terms of timber machinery. The angle on the dozer blade is the equivalent to a circular saw with a hook angle of 30 degrees, which is very aggressive and will pull the timber in.
First Question am I right in thinking this is an aggressive angle that is giving me problems or is it just poor operator technique and I need some schooling on how to operate
Second Question can I get some feed back as to the cutting edge angle on other machines dozer blade measured in degrees off vertical i.e. a straight up and down blade would be zero degrees
IMG_0835.jpgIMG_0837.jpg

/ Bulldozer blade cutting angle #2  
What are you trying to push with it? Dirt, then you need to watch the blade like a hawk and adjust as necessary.

/ Bulldozer blade cutting angle #3