Jinma 254 - General Operational Question

/ Jinma 254 - General Operational Question #1  

ljplum12

Bronze Member
Tractor
None
Since this is my first time owning a tractor and first time piloting one (besides a lawn mower) since I was a youngster, there are some things I'm not really sure about operationally, particularly regarding gearing.

The tractor doesn't stall. If I put it in a gear and let off the clutch, it won't move, but it won't die either. Is this normal? How is it different than a car?

I don't know how well this thing is supposed to move across the terrain, but I feel like it's lacking in getting the power to the wheels. With the slightest incline I can't really get it to move above 2 H/L. Is this normal as well?

It seems people don't typically just go out and buy a tractor without having some kind of experience, so I can't find a "Introduction to how to drive a small tractor" anywhere. :laughing:

/ Jinma 254 - General Operational Question #2  
Not quite understanding what you mean. Does it not move at all or only has issues on an incline.

Basically you have 3 levers to deal with.
1. The main gear lever(1,2,3 and R).
2. The High/low lever down in front of the seat(right and slightly to the rear of the main lever).
3. The Low/Low or "creeper" lever(all the way forward on top of the transmission).
On some models the creeper is replaced by a shuttle shift gear with a linkage up to a F/R lever under the steering wheel. If it is not moving at all, are ALL the gear levers fully engaged?

/ Jinma 254 - General Operational Question
It moves pretty well on flat surfaces. Today I was moving some yard waste around and on slight inclines (or even just going over small humps) in order to get it to move I would have to put it in (matching up with your explanation):
1. Main Gear Level - 1
2. High/Low lever - Low
3. Low/Low - Bunny Rabbit (not in creeper)

Due to my inexperience, I don't know if this is normal for this tractor.