Jinma 254XL FEL Shuttle Shift Y385 Engine

/ Jinma 254XL FEL Shuttle Shift Y385 Engine #1  

mmprestine

Tractor
Jinma 254XL 4WD FEL Shuttle Shift Y385 engine
I just purchased a 2007 Jinma 254XL tractor, never owned a tractor so I am a total noob. I plan to use this thread as a general resource for my tractor and its projects.

Pictures of my tractor.

/ Jinma 254XL FEL Shuttle Shift Y385 Engine
Here are some manuals for the tractor and engine that I have found that could be useful to others.

Jinma Manuals

Here is some part data that I found for the tractor that could be useful to others.

Jinma 254 Part Data

I am not familiar with these diesel engines and I bought this tractor with the premise that there might need to be some engine work. I am a pretty good mechanic and it doesn’t bother me with the potential issues, even if I have to rebuild this engine. The prior owner said that he heard a knock noise and was the reason for selling it. I have not heard anything out of the ordinary and it sounds like a loud diesel. I do know that just prior to hearing this noise he replaced the injection pump, less than 10hrs ago, and had a hard time getting it timed in. The pump timing still might not be as it should. This doesn’t surprise me because without the manuals or specs needed to do so properly I dont know how they could have timed it. I think I will pull the pan and check the bearings and see what they look like just for cheap insurance. I have done research and it typically sounds like a fuel and injector problem that would cause this noise. Again I hear nothing strange.