Broken Hydraulic Hose on front loader of tractor

/ Broken Hydraulic Hose on front loader of tractor #1  

oscarman

Tractor
Taskmaster 438D
I have a TaskMaster 438D. I have a new replacement hose ready to install. Thought I'd flush the hydraulic system while I was at it. I am new to tractors... what does flushing the hydraulic system entail? Also, do I need to bleed the air out of the system - how is this usually done? Thanks...

/ Broken Hydraulic Hose on front loader of tractor #2  
Welcome to the forum Oscarman. How hydraulic pumps does your TM have? And if more than one - which one supplies the loader?

I have no personal experience with TM, but have flushed Jinmas and KAMAs. Unless you've been seeing bubbles in the hydraulic fluid, it's unlikely you have to worry about air. But I'm going to wait first, to see if any actual TM owners can contributetheir own experience.

If none respond, at least I can relate to you how I did it on the JM and KM

//greg//

/ Broken Hydraulic Hose on front loader of tractor #3  
If you just blew a hose and are merely replacing the old one then there is no need to flush the system.

Once you get the new hydraulic hose installed cycle the loader through all of its movements several times which will take care of any air in the lines and cylinders.

Good luck to you. /forums/images/graemlins/cool.gif

/ Broken Hydraulic Hose on front loader of tractor
Much thanks to Greg_G and PineRidge for responding. The TM has two hydraulic pumps. I think, not exactly sure that one is totally dedicated to the loader. Also thanks for the tip on replacing the broken hose. One more question. The fittings on the hose are metric. When I took the hose to the local repair guy for replacement he did not carry metric fittings so he sliced in a 'union' where the hole was thereby keeping the end metric fittings intact. Any ideas on where these fittings/parts can be acquired?

Thanks again! It's great to have a place to come to for questions....