2425 farm pro very hard starting

/ 2425 farm pro very hard starting #1  

frigman

Tractor
farm pro 2425
I have a farm pro 2425. I bought it used with 34 hours on it. From reading these forums I think that there should be three glow plugs. I can't find them. The books that I got with the tractor say that I have a preheater or a electrothermic plug. Can some one tell me if I have a preheater or electrothermic plug or glo plugs. I have an H setting on the start switch---when I put the key in that position the amp meter does not deflect at all. I'm a newbie and confused and my tractor still won't start. Thanks for any help.

/ 2425 farm pro very hard starting #2  
The three glow plugs are on the top of the engine, connected by a metal strap often called a "buss bar". Turning the key to H should energize the buss bar with 12v. If the amp meter is working, youshould get almost 10 amps per glow plug dropping as they warm up. At this point, we don't know if the amp meter is working (does it show discharge/charge any other time?). These engines can be hard to start when cold, almost impossible without working glow plugs.

/ 2425 farm pro very hard starting
thanks for your information . I,ll check to see if I have 12 volts at the buss bar that you mentioned. The amp meter does fluctuate when I turn off and on the lights. Can you tell be if I have a fuse block or maybe a fuse link that if blown. thanks again for your help----I appreicate it a bunch.

/ 2425 farm pro very hard starting #4  
<font color="blue"> . I have an H setting on the start switch---when I put the key in that position the amp meter does not deflect at all. I'm a newbie and confused and my tractor still won't start. Thanks for any help. </font>

Hey FrigMan,

I think that you have the YangDong Y385 engine in your tractor. But a check on the Engine Plate will reveal that.