Oil & Fuel TY290 engine / 2i70 fuel injection pump

/ TY290 engine / 2i70 fuel injection pump #1  

kingjames8283

Hello everyone, I am new to Chinese Tractors as of 3-weeks ago but have 22 plus years in trucking and working on diesels. I took on a project 3 weeks ago for a friend of mine and I've hit a brick wall. I need input from other diesel mechanics who have battled this problem.

The project: non-running tractor.
Model ID: Homier FarmPro 2420 / Jinma tractor 200 series.
Engine: TY290 2-cyl, 20Hp.
Engine hours: 27 actual
Tractor setup: Basic, no hyd-attachments.

I found a non responsive tractor of which I've brought electrical system back on line with a minor repair to starter solenoid. Next tractor will not start. Check, no fuel being pumped. Checked all lines, filter, and strainer. No air leaks, no blockages. Upon further inspection found fuel inj-pump dry as a bone. No oil inside pump. Owner claims that after he bought tractor he had a runaway engine condition but was still able to use tractor upto 5 months after incident. Lack of oil in speed governer the problem. However after that 5 month run the tractor quit running and hasn't ran since. That was 9 months ago.

Although fuel inj-pump non-responsive, I used a prop against the fuel primer and gave a couple of pumps and started engine. Provided I continued pumping gently on the primer the tractor ran beautifully but the minute I quit pumping the tractor died. My prognosis to owner, needs new fuel injector pump.