Help selecting a dozer

/ Help selecting a dozer #1  

hayden

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L5740 cab + FEL, KX121, KX080
I could use some advise on selecting a used dozer. I'm sure a number of people will suggest just hiring someone to do the work I need, and I might end up doing that. However, presume for a minute that I've decided to buy a used machine rather than hire out the work.

I don't know what to look for or what I need. I have a lot of experience with a tractor, loader, and backhoe, but I have never operated a dozed and know essentially nothing about them. Here's the work I need to do over the next year or two.

- Site work for two new buildings. This will involve lowering an area by 1-2 feet for the access drive, and cutting down/filling another area for one building, adn digging into a sloped grade for the second building. My backhoe will be used for much of this, but all the grading I think will go significantly faster with a dozer.

- The road that accesses my place is 1/2 mile long and needs a major fix up. It needs to be graded, widened, and several steep bumps cut down.

- I have another mile or two of logging roads that need to be reopened.

- I'd like to dig out an area for a pond. I think it was once a pond many many years ago, and is about an acre in size.

- I also have never-ending logging to do, and this a dozer would be helpful for that too.

I'd probably buy a machine, use it for a few years, then sell it (or maybe not).

All this seems like great work for a dozer, but I have no idea how big to go, what features, etc.

I've read about 6-way blades, which I gather are up/down, angle left/right, and tilt. I think I need that.

On my tractor I have a hydrostatic drive, which I really like. I see that modern dozers have this feature, but don't know if it will force me to a higher-end and newer machine that I otherwise need.

I don't want a project machine since I'd rather spend my time running the dozer than fixing it.