Case backhoe 580B "Construction King"

/ Case backhoe 580B "Construction King" #1  

jgh

Gold Member
Tractor
NH TN90F; B3000 Kubota; Bobcats 430 & A300; Liebherr 621C, Exmark laser Z, 2 sawmills
Case backhoe 580B \"Construction King\"

8/23

Well, instead of putting a hangon backhoe on my tractor, I am looking at a Case 580B which is marked "Construction King" Based on the serial #s (different ones on different parts--could be a made-up machine), one of which is 5227672, it is about a 1971 or so in age. A few hydraulic leaks, very smoky on startup and thru the cc breather (blow by?), but no other major problems evident, other than a certain looseness/creakiness/jerkiness with noise in the joints. Power appears OK, but I am not an expert.

2WD with average rubber. Power shuttle shift, 4 speed.

I would really appreciate comments re:

How do I look for problems and what are the weak spots of this model?

Where could I find the model specs, hp, etc?

What would an overhaul of the engine cost, given the age and the apparent blow by, etc?

What is it worth? He is asking $7K. I have already asked a dealer (who checked his books if it was in there, not sure), but would like to have unbiased opinions from this forum.

Thanks as always!

Jim

/ Case backhoe 580B "Construction King" #2  
Re: Case backhoe 580B \"Construction King\"

Boy I'd really think about renting something unless you really need a long term machine. I saw 4WD extendahoes, mid 90's vintage going for $18K at the auction, a whole bunch of them. Newer 580s are completely different hydraulically from the old "B"s and are as strong as older excavators.

Parts and service will be $$$. It's nice to have your own machine, but for the bigger stuff I always rent a nice, new excavator which can do tremendous work in a day or two, and if something was to go wrong, I grab my chair, my ice tea, the phone and say. BRING ME ANOTHER ONE! /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif

del

/ Case backhoe 580B "Construction King"

8/23