Performance of CTL vs true Crawler Loader?

/ Performance of CTL vs true Crawler Loader? #1  

Verticaltrx

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B3200/L2501/SVL65-2/U35-4, IH 454/656, Ford NAA, Case 1845C/480E/450C LGP
Looking for some insight from those who have used both Compact track loaders and standard crawler loaders. A small crawler loader is something I'd like to add to my business some day and I've been wondering how these new compact rubber track loaders compare. I have some experience with crawler loaders, but have never run a CTL (do have lots of hours experience running wheeled skid steers)

For the sake of comparison lets look at 10-12K lb. machines. I know this is about the top of the line for CTLs and the bottom for crawler loaders, but probably would make for the best comparison. Something along the lines of a 350B-355D John Deere crawler loader vs. the biggest rubber track machines. Primary use would be clearing land and excavating. By clearing land I mean actually digging out and laying over trees, pushing out scrub brush with the bucket, stumping, etc. As for excavating I'd be needing to do cut and fill work to level building sites, excavate for the occasional basement, etc.

Any input from those who have run both types of machines would be great. :thumbsup:

/ Performance of CTL vs true Crawler Loader? #2  
The ctls do fine for the dirt portion. they will move about the same amount as the crawler because of the speed and agility. When it comes to the pure grunt work of trees then the crawler shines. If tree and stumps are the bulk of work you will be far happier with the crawler and it will last far longer. I have both.

/ Performance of CTL vs true Crawler Loader? #3