Bringing an old generator back to life

/ Bringing an old generator back to life #2  
Nicely done. :thumbsup:
Sounds like a 1,200 r/m engine, what make?
Only thing I would have done differently (if it were mine to use) is to megger the generator windings before loading it, and install a new air filter.
I believe that oil filter is only a partial flow, not a full flow - priming not necessary.

I have a 12kW Onan DJC that I'm going to light off next week that's been sitting outside for a few years. Hope it will be as easy. I'm going to "bake" the windings first though.

Last edited:
   / Bringing an old generator back to life #3  
Interesting post.

I looked at those ex-military generators a while back but since I'm no genny expert, I decided it was too much like buying a "pig in a poke". Very seldom do any come up for auction within reasonable driving distance of me and I didn't know where to track down spares and replacement parts. There's a lot of information on the web but not enough to make me feel comfortable about purchasing one.

I still would like to pick up a a 10kW, 1/3 phase switchable diesel set with a sound enclosure one of these days but darn, they're starting to get expensive and if you track one down that's already been refurbished, the price doubles.

If I was a more competent wrench turner, this would make a good winter project. If I ever do dive in, your video will be good reference material. Thank you.

/ Bringing an old generator back to life
Nicely done. :thumbsup:
Sounds like a 1,200 r/m engine, what make?
Only thing I would have done differently (if it were mine to use) is to megger the generator windings before loading it, and install a new air filter.
I believe that oil filter is only a partial flow, not a full flow - priming not necessary.

I have a 12kW Onan DJC that I'm going to light off next week that's been sitting outside for a few years. Hope it will be as easy. I'm going to "bake" the windings first though.