Tracks vs wheels

/ Tracks vs wheels #1  

Lebneh

Bronze Member
Tractor
John Deere 3720
I have no experience with skid steers but I am interested in them.

I hear people mention "float" in reference to tracked machines but I don't really know what that means. I also have seen conversion kits for the wheeled units but they seem little more than knock off attempts to mimic the real tracks.

I am under the impression that tracked units are more expensive than wheeled ones. If that's true are the tracks worth all the extra $$?

I am hoping someone with real knowledge on the subject can school me on the pro's and con's of each.

Also I am curious about the converters for wheels machines. Are they worth it? Would the conversion kit help prevent flats from the stump of a small tree improperly cut at an angle?

/ Tracks vs wheels #2  
I have both. The track machine is great for everything in the dirt or mud and no flats. It also has much better traction and bounces (bucks) less.
Those add on track kits work, but are not even close to a tracked machine.
The only reason I have a wheeled unit is for work on concrete surfaces.

I love my track machine. It is the way to go for most applications.:thumbsup:

/ Tracks vs wheels #3