Looking at a Case 580CK for my new rural home (total newb to tractors)

/ Looking at a Case 580CK for my new rural home (total newb to tractors) #1  

JohnnyAirtime

Tractor
Case 580CK, John Deere 240
Hello all...
New guy here, and new to tractors in general.

I'm a handy person, hobbyist welder, etc... just not too much of a motor mechanic type.

I'm in need of renting, or buying a tractor... ongoing, for property work at my new house. From digging trenches (electrical, water drains, etc) to grading and smoothing, to brush clearing or moving dirt and debris. Do I "NEED" a tractor around on a monthly basis, no. But I can see the many uses once it's here and owned, especially if I add forks to the bucket when needed.

There's a gentleman about 40 miles from me who is selling a 1967 Case 580CK.
He has the rear gannon, and the backhoe attachment for it. Has replaced a few lines (during his ownership of about 6yrs), and says he's replaced the pump. Said the brakes are good (no problems), the shuttle hasn't given him any issues, and the motor (gas) doesn't smoke or leak any fluids. I've yet to see a demo, and verify no hydro leaks... nor did we fire it up. He's firm at his asking price, so I didn't offer when I stood there looking it over.

I signed up for this site, simply because I was reading posts about the 580CK. It seems, that if it's in good shape and needs little work that the worth could be about what he's asking. Yet, he was a bit slow to respond to some of my detailed questions and the timelines didn't match up from over the phone conversation and then the in person discussion. As example, how long he's owned it... how long ago things were replaced... and similar. It just made me a bit skeptical, as well... the yard it was kept in.