Thomas 245 HDS skidsteer

/ Thomas 245 HDS skidsteer #1  

dsnAK

I am looking to buy oine of these used and am looking for any opinions -

My use will mainly be using the snow thrower to clear my road (1/3 mile) 200"s of snow and lots of drifting. I will also use it so deck piers ect - I am a contractor.

$20K gets me this:

* the machine - it is old a 1990 and only has 800 hours of residential landscaping work

* the attachments are - forks, bucket, snow thrower, auger and 2 bits

* has heated cab and block heater

* set of foam filled and regular tires - 2 sets of chains

* the engine is Deutz

Thomas is out of New Brunswick Canada. And everything up here is usually 10% more than the lower 48.

Any thoughts or opinions - really appreciate any imput - THX

/ Thomas 245 HDS skidsteer #2  
You need traction in the snow and on the ice. You would be 10 times more productive with a dedicated track machine. ASV is best suited for your needs. Give me your email address and I will send you evidence as to why you would be making a serious mistake to go with tires or a rigid mounted rubber track loader.
With $20k you can find one in good condition.
email address?

/ Thomas 245 HDS skidsteer
Hey thanks the address is dnorthup@alaska.net.

From what I have been told the track system does not work well here in the snow - I am talking a pretty good amount of snow. Conventional wisdom up here says go with the tires and chains. Mind you this is a gravel bedded road and is not off road.

Nonetheless I am very interested in learning your thoughts as why tracks are superior in this application - I do not want to make a serious mistake and thought I would be by getting a tracked machine until your post here.

Let me know what you know...

/ Thomas 245 HDS skidsteer #4  
We sell alot of Thomas loaders. Very good machines. Alot of our customers do clear snow. I would say that the tires and chains would be better over the ASV tracks.

/ Thomas 245 HDS skidsteer #5