I bought me a backhoe!

/ I bought me a backhoe! #1  

Mike24

Tractor
International 270a
Hello everyone at TBN. I'm a newbie here. I have been reading through a lot of the site, seems like great place w/ a lot of experience.

I bought my first piece of equipment last weekend! I got a 1979 international 270a backhoe. So far it seems to work pretty well. It starts right up and runs good. Seems to have plenty of power and all the hydraulics work well. The only thing wrong w/ it is its ugly, needs a paint job bad and there is some play in the backhoe and the FEL

After reading through a lot of the posts here I see that 4wd is the way to go, unfortunately mine is 2wd. the data plate says the weight is 16,200lbs. Is that enough weight to get around in 2wd ok?

I paid $5,300 for it. Does that sound like a fair price? It has about 4600 hours on it. The guy said the motor had been rebuilt but wasn’t sure how many hours ago.
After I got it to my house it took about 6 minutes to get my first stump out.
Hopefully I can figure out how to get some pictures on here. So people can take a look at it!

/ I bought me a backhoe! #2  
Well, you got yourself a heavy duty tractor there, for sure. There's probably nothing you couldn't do with that. Before I ended up getting a CUT, I looked at many backhoes like yours. And "beauty is in the eye of the beholder". I like it.

/ I bought me a backhoe! #3  
I like it, too! My tractor is probably uglier!:D

With that kind of weight I don't think you will have any problem getting around.

/ I bought me a backhoe! #4  
Congradulations on the new tractor! I have bought used tractors before and you will be amazed over the next few years how much you will learn about your tractor's hydraulics, engine, electrical system, etc...It is a growing experience. Good Luck!

/ I bought me a backhoe! #5  
Hi there