Dozer,pedal steer or lever steer?

/ Dozer,pedal steer or lever steer? #1  

John White

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota B3030
I would like your veiw on pedal steer or lever steer on dozers. I have a Allis Chalmers HD4 which has lever steer. After a days work my arms are pretty well beat. With my age and tendonitis too. I am wondering how a pedal steer dozer would be. I think Allis made a 653 model and some of them had pedal steer. How much force does it take to steer one? This is my third small dozer and it has served me well. I may eventually go to one of the small Mitsbushi or Komatsu dozers. Any one with any thought on them. I had one dealer who sells both brands say that he thinks the Mitsbushi is a better dozer and eaiser to work on but parts are not readly available. Any feed back will be appreciated. John

/ Dozer,pedal steer or lever steer? #2  
I have limited experience with pedal steer, but it does make a huge difference if you run a machine all day. I currently have a Dresser TD-8E lever steer and boy it does get hard on my left arm going from levers to reverse and holding the levers all day. Now my right foot isn’t doing anything, pedal steer isn’t hard, although the only machine I ran with it was a Deere 450. My experience on it was it made a huge difference, I just couldn’t afford the machines I found with it on.