Transmission Problems???

/ Transmission Problems??? #1  

Surfmonkey

Tractor
Craftsman 24HP 42" 917.287261
I have a Craftsman 24 HP 42" Electric Start Automatic Transmission. The Model Number is: 917.287261

The tractor would not travel at high speed. Engine runs and blades turn but the tractor would not get up to high speed. If I went in a straight line, it would gradually pick up speed. When I would make a turn, it would not get up to high speed.

This morning, it will go in reverse (but not fast) and will not go forward but a few feet then stops. Slight groan from under the seat, guessing it is the transmission.

Any ideas on what problem might be? Can I do the tranny rebuild myself even though I am not a mechanic, but am somewhat mechanically inclined?

/ Transmission Problems??? #2  
3 year old Craftsman 42' cut.. - Tractors Forum - GardenWeb

Is this you ? Did the problem come back ?
If so then you have a transmission problem. They can be repaired. The first step would be to get the model number and manufacturer of the transmission and post it here. Or take a look at the website of the manufacturer and get their phone number for the parts dept. They can help on the phone.

Steve

/ Transmission Problems??? #3  
I have a Craftsman 24 HP 42" Electric Start Automatic Transmission. The Model Number is: 917.287261

The tractor would not travel at high speed. Engine runs and blades turn but the tractor would not get up to high speed. If I went in a straight line, it would gradually pick up speed. When I would make a turn, it would not get up to high speed.

This morning, it will go in reverse (but not fast) and will not go forward but a few feet then stops. Slight groan from under the seat, guessing it is the transmission.

Any ideas on what problem might be? Can I do the tranny rebuild myself even though I am not a mechanic, but am somewhat mechanically inclined?