Tractor
    Craftsman

Cool Oil does not get dark after 15 hours use

Hi,
    I'm a newbie here and very dangerous as I know a little bit about engines and tractors. But only enough to get me in trouble. About 3 mos. ago or more I changed the oil in my Craftsman GTS6500 Kohler Twin 26hp. I always check the oil but noticed that even after 10 to 15 hours of use (engine has a total of 130 hours runtime) the oil is still clear. Sounds good but it worries me that it is in such good condition after running it in this Florida heat. Does that sound possible or does anyone think there might be a problem? Are there any other things I should check? Thanks in advance for your responses.
    Eric

Platinum Member
    Tractor
    KIOTI DK45S

Default Re: Oil does not get dark after 15 hours use

Sounds like the engine is running clean, without any blowby from the rings. I wouldn't think about it for another minute. the day will come when you wish the oil would stay clean.
    ILLINOIS ENGINE, Beecher City, IL
    Briggs and Stratton MST (Master Service Technician)
    ILENGINE over at Lawnmowerforum

Tractor
    Kioti DK 40-Massey ferguson 135-Ventrac 4500 Diesel

to TBN
    Murph ------------

Tractor
    ym1700, NH7610S, Ford 8N, 2N, NAA, 660, 850 x2, 541, 950, 941D, 951, 2000, 3000, 4000, 4600, 5000, 740, IH 'C' 'H', CUB, John Deere 'B', allis 'G', case VAC

only oil I expect to get black fast is in diesels...

Elite Member
    Tractor
    Ford 3930

Hi Eric - If you've been changing the oil and filter on schedule, you've got nothing to worry about.

What can cause the oil to go dark fast (gas engine) is if you buy a used piece of equipment, and the previous owner had been neglecting the oil changes - in other words, black sludge is built up internally due to lack of maintenance.

The detergents in fresh oil will go to work dissolving the sludge - in a case like that, you can see the oil darken faster than in a well maintained engine.