IH Cub 782 Need engine replacement

/ IH Cub 782 Need engine replacement #1  

rdc127@comcast.net

Tractor
IH CC 782
I need to replace original Kohler KT17 twin in my CC 782. During last snowstorm, I was blowing more oil & smoke than I was blowing away snow, as well as had no power. I had blown head gasket some years back when engine overheaded due to some undetected field mice nesting in the cooling fins.The engine s/n is 11006361 and the chassis s/n is 2050594 U688998. I live in southern NH.

Local MA dealer told me to sit down before he quoted $3900 for new short block or $4500 full replacement. Ouch! That's more than I've spent on my last two cars.Then dealer started the sales pitch for a new tractor. The new rigs just don't appear as robust as the earlier models (have that Sears & Roebuck look).

The 782 tractor is in decent shape, little duck tape on the seat. I have already invested some money on other parts over the years. I really want to keep the unit. I'm no mechanic so I'll need someone to do the work. What are my options? Any good used or rebuilt engines out there? Or plug in replacements? What do you recomend? Thanks for your help.

/ IH Cub 782 Need engine replacement #3  
There are a couple of repower "kits" out there for the 782 if you want a brand new engine, one uses a Honda and other is a Briggs Vanguard, both run around 1600 for the kit. If you want to go with a good used power plant, like a Kohler Mag18, check out the ihregistry.com website. Join up, its free, and email member Ray Weaver, he lives in eastern pa and has hundreds of cub cadets he is parting. He can get you a good engine for alot less. Most depends if you can do your own work swaping out the engine. There are loads of great guys and gals on the ihregistry website. Its dedicated to the cub cadets and keepin them running. I have helped a few guys repower thier tractors or overhaul the engine. PM me if you need to know more or want to talk on the phone. Mike