Cub Cadet GT 2550

/ Cub Cadet GT 2550 #1  

Bruces715

Tractor
New Holland TC33D, Cub Cadet GT 2550, Scotts 1642
Hello, I am new to Tractor By Net. I just purchased a Cub Cadet GT 2550, 2010 model year. It was a floor model left from 2010 and on sale. I have never owned a Cub Cadet product before and would be interested in hearing from other owners about the pros and cons of the model 2550. I have read the manual and intend on doing all maintenance as outlined. My previous (still have) mower was a Scotts, made by John Deere, 16 h.p. Kohler Command, 42" cut. This mower has been trouble free for 8 years, but I wanted something with a wider cut and am hoping I purchased a good reliable machine. I mow approx. 2 acres.

Thank You

/ Cub Cadet GT 2550 #2  
Welcome! You got a great machine there. I recall from shopping that real good deals can be had on left over models from around Jan-March. Read up on 2500 series setup, maintenance, etc.. for all kinds of good info. The 50" is a nice size. I had the 44" on my 2544 and the deck doesn't protrude past the wheel base unless you go 50 or 54". The 44" makes it tough for close trimming work. Then I went and did it again with the 44" on my Z-Force!@#$

Joel

/ Cub Cadet GT 2550 #3  
About the only thing I would add to what the manual says about maintenance is to blow out whatever grass clipping collect in the engine fan shroud and the transmission fan. This is true for any tractor, but with the open hood design of the 2500's, you might find you get more clippings collecting inside the fan shroud or engine cooling fins that what you are used to.

/ Cub Cadet GT 2550 #4  
Another thing to be mindful of is the ratty plastic oil drain fitting (assuming it didn't get changed for 2010), which has a nasty habit of leaking. There's several threads here on how to pipe up a replacement.

/ Cub Cadet GT 2550 #5