RZT 54 vs. Z Force 48

/ RZT 54 vs. Z Force 48 #1  

strikeout

Tractor
46 Craftsman Riding Mower
I am a newbie to zero turn mowers, but must upgrade a worn out Craftsman riding mower. Plus I am looking to cut down on the amount of time I spend mowing my yard. I have been reading through the forums here and doing much research on the internet. The hydro-gear comments have me worried, but I am ready to finally make the commitment to a zero turn.

I had my mind made up on a RZT 54 from my local dealer for $3200, but the dealer thinks I need to move up to the Z Force 48 for $4100. Their reasoning was the RZT is not really good for my size yard. I mow about 3-4 acres once a week and it is all pretty smooth. The dealer highlighted the longer warranty on the Z Force and it is heavy dutier build. I was more interested in the Kawasaki engine (RZT 54) over the Kohler (Z Force) and of course the larger cut. The RZT 54 has a dual hydro gear ZT 2800 with oil reservoir and the Z Force has the ZT 2800 with oil reservoir and filter( does the filter make a huge difference from these two?)

As a first time Cub Cadet buyer, which would some of you recommend. I understand everybody will have a different opinion, but I am trying to find out if this is just a dealer trying to upsell me to the next level, or genuine in their suggestion. Thanks and I will enjoy reading your suggestions.

/ RZT 54 vs. Z Force 48 #2  
All Hydrogear ZT-2800's have oil filters on them, regardless if they're on the Z-Force or RZT.

If your terrain is pretty smooth, I'd save the money and go with the RZT 54.

The main thing is they've both got great, serviceable transaxles.

The chassis might be a bit stronger on the Z-Force, but as long as you don't let the 54" deck on the RZT drag/ride on the ground, you'll be good to go.

Joel

/ RZT 54 vs. Z Force 48 #3  
strikeout,

First, I hope your signature doesn't foretell of your luck with your purchase!