CC104 or 3000 Series, Which would you restore?

/ CC104 or 3000 Series, Which would you restore? #1  

Cigar50

Tractor
Cub Cadet
Hello All, Noob here. Put up an intro in the new members section. Generally more of a lurker and searcher for info than I am a joiner poster, but I do have this question.

Here is the background: I have this CC 104 that I have had since about 1984. Those of you that know about this era Cubs know that they are built just like mini tractors. Stout frames, drive shaft, clutch, cast iron rear end, even the front grill shell is cast iron. That's why I kept the thing and drug it all over the country with me as I moved. Anyway its no show queen as it has seen its fair share of work, but it is in pretty good shape and there is the sentimental value, right?

Anyway I was at my CC dealer getting some maintenance items for my SC2400 when I saw this 3000 series machine in his trade in section. Looks a little rough, not bad, just not loved like it should be. The deck on it is ROUGH though, it has a rusted out section on the front lip. How does that happen in Texas? That's about all I remember as I wasn't really that interested. But I did ask my dealer if perhaps we could work something out for my 104 on this 3000 series. Said he might be interested and we left it at that. NO, I don't even know the specific model of 3000 the unit is. At the time I was not that curious, but the more I thought about it maybe I should be more curious depending you guys thoughts.