Cub Cadet 7260 ran out of diesel, and now it won't stay running.

/ Cub Cadet 7260 ran out of diesel, and now it won't stay running. #1  

gmiles123

Tractor
Cub Cadet 7260
I'm new to the TBN forums, so I apologize in advance if this is a stupid question

I recently purchased a Cub Cadet 7260 that has a 3-cyl Mitsu diesel engine. I've worked on gas vehicles for the past 16 years, but I'm new to the diesel world.

Like a rookie, I ran the tractor out of fuel because the fuel gauge isn't currently working. At the time, I didn't know about bleeding the air out of the fuel lines. I filled the fuel tank and tried to start it a few times, of course with no luck. That's when I learned I needed to bleed the air. I followed the process in the owner's manual for bleeding the fuel lines. This time the tractor started up, but was running rougher than before, with little to no throttle response, and it eventually died. I thought maybe there was still air trapped in the lines between the injector pump and the injectors, so I seperately cracked each line at the injectors while cranking the engine. I started the tractor again with a little improvement, but it eventually died. I repeated this process several times with no more improvement.

On the last time, I decided to try individually cracking the lines while the tractor was still running. When cracking fuel line closest to the firewall, and the center fuel line, the engine died immediately. When cracking the fuel line closest to the radiator, the tractor started running great. Throttle response was back, and it was running the way it did before running out of fuel. I let the tractor run like that for a few minutes, thinking it was working out any remaining air. The only problem is that when I tightened the fuel line back onto the injector, it starts running rough again, and eventually dies. I repeated this process a couple of times with the same result.

Any ideas on what this could be? Or what I should try next?

Thanks!