Cub Cadet i1046

/ Cub Cadet i1046 #1  

MowingGirl

I wanted to share my bad experience with the i1046. Please keep in mind that I am not a mechanical expert so please forgive my very un-technical descriptions. lol We purchased an i1046 from our local Home Depot to replace my (still running, albeit roughly) 16 year old JD STX38. I thought the zero turn capability would be nice and still be able to hook up a utility cart, pull a tarp with leaves in the fall, etc. Upon delivery, there were two problems. The transmission belt was not turning smoothly thus was making a clunking noise and the LED hour meter was not working. After calling the Cub 'support' number and being told that I was to pay a local dealer to come and pick it up and fix it, I had heard enough! This machine did not even have ONE hour on it. I told the 'kid' on the phone that I was not going to do that and that I would just return it. His response was 'that's fine then'. So I called Home Depot and they picked it up the next day and refunded my money entirely.

I then went to my local John Deere dealer and bought an X300. The quality is unmatched and I am totally satisfied with it. It rides like a dream is much quieter and, even though it is 17 horse power compared to the Cub's 20, it is faster. Although it is not zero turn, it is very tight and is easy to maneuver.

I don't know why I didn't stick with JD in the first place. Lesson learned. I wish the Cub would have worked out, but I couldn't spend that kind of money and not have it work straight off of the truck. Geez.

Now if only the grass would grow faster so I can mow again!

MowingGirl

/ Cub Cadet i1046 #2  
So sorry for your bad luck! I do find it interesting that you bought your new John Deere from the dealer and you bought the Cub Cadet from Home Depot. I think if you bought the Cub from a dealer the outcome might have been different. They know the machines and how to set them up properly and will fix any problems.

Last edited: