Making Lift Arm Telescoping sway bars

/ Making Lift Arm Telescoping sway bars #1  

RobJ

Elite Member
Tractor
Kubota L2500
We've all seen them, we've all wanted them, some have ordered and installed them. But some of us can't afford them. :( So I'm starting a thread to make some. Not sure where it'll end because this is an in progress thread(the worse kind for the poster!!).

I fall into the can't afford them so I will attempt to make them...before my next trip up to the country...2 weeks. I'm not a welder by trade so it might not be pretty, functional I hope.

To buy the parts needed from Kubota, I need...

2 piece telescoping pieces - $85 (includes some hardware, not much)
1 piece that mounts to the ROPS - $15.00
1 piece that mounts to the lift arm - $20

This is per side so that $120 times 2 = $240 plus shipping and maybe tax. Prices at TractorSmart and Messicks are close to the same. Forget walk in dealer prices.

I'm going to try this with what I have. First looked at 16ga square tubing. Maybe a little light. 1" fits nicely into 1.25". It's easy to drill and work with, to bad. I have some 1"x1.5" 12ga tubing. This looks close to what Kubota is using. The other factory piece is solid bar. For this I have some 3/4" x 2" in house. The 3/4" will slide into the rect. tubing. I'll cut off 3/4" of the solid bar for the sliding piece, this will bring it down to 1.25" and it'll fit nicely. The hardest parts to make are the rolled pieces that mount to the lift arm and ROPS. Tonight I will try to heat and roll these pieces. I have to make 3 per side, lift arm, ROPS, and the piece that is welded to the solid bar and hooks up to the ROPS piece. This piece has to up and down and left and right.

What I'm starting with.....and the factory look.

Attachments

• 3-point.JPG
    3-point.JPG
    100.4 KB · Views: 1,340
  • 3-point (2).JPG
    3-point (2).JPG
    108.1 KB · Views: 1,241
  • lift-arm-stabil.jpg
    lift-arm-stabil.jpg
    131 KB · Views: 1,374