I'm No Crook!

/ I'm No Crook! #1  

deepNdirt

Veteran Member
Tractor
yanmar YM-1700
I'm No Crook! -score on a Mower deck-

;) I do think I kinda stole this thing, I was at the local salvage yard today and found a JD Commercial mower being parted out, I looked it over and started seeing what I thought could be made into a 3-ph finnishing from the deck of this commercial mower, it has a gearbox and a drive shaft very similar to that of a tractors PTO shaft, I went to ask the person about how much it cost, he said any mower deck would cost 10.00/ Yes! TEN /5+5=10 ,I ask him would be the same for commercial type mower decks? he said yes all mower decks 10 bucks. OK I got back there as fast as I could and started pulling the easy remove quick connecting pins, and had it off in 5 minutes,:D
they even load it with the fork lift for me, ;) ofcourse I've been doing business with these folks for over 20 years, and have always felt I have been given great deals, But I almost think I stole this thing,:D
It is all intack only thing is missing is 1 wheel, the blades are still good, the sheet metal has surface rust but not rusted thru anywhere, the gearbox and pully's move freely,........................ So I guess I got me another project lined up to work on, But I still got to get the ROPS for my tractor built first,
anyone ever converted or customized anything like this? can help with some
pointers? it came from a mower like in the picture below, and the other pix is the actuall mower deck,

Thanks

Last edited:
   / I'm No Crook! #2  
My biggest concern would be the gearing. Would the front mower deck be running at 2500 RPM, or 540 RPM? But for ten bucks, no doubt you can get it running affordably. :)

/ I'm No Crook! #3