Very high engine oil level

/ Very high engine oil level #1  

GordNovo

Silver Member
While out fishing yesterday i get a text from the missus who's out on the 2520 cutting grass and such. She tells me she hears some weird clank sound followed by some loud clicking sounds and the tractor begins puffing heavy smoke. She turns it off immediately.

I check the oil this am and notice the oil level is very high, like 3" above the fill line. It's not milky.. and it has a very light viscosity. also, it does not have a diesel smell. There's no sign of hyd fluid in the site window, but that's not unusual. it often fluctuates out of site. My guess it seems like tranny fluid has made it into the engine. I'm no mechanic but my guess is a main seal between engine and tranny has gone bad.

Does anyone have any experience with such a situation or have an idea on diagnosis? I did a search on the forum and nothing similar came up.

i'm guessing the repairs will be very extensive due to having to split the tractor to get to the seal and possibly repair any piston damage that may have occurred. ugh...

thanks everyone...

/ Very high engine oil level #2  
Sounds more like the hydraulic pump went bad if it has hydraulic fluid in the engine.

/ Very high engine oil level #3  
Or more likely the injection pump has a failed seal since you say it smells like diesel.

/ Very high engine oil level #4  

I check the oil this am and notice the oil level is very high, like 3" above the fill line. It's not milky.. and it has a very light viscosity. also, it does not have a diesel smell. There's no sign of hyd fluid in the site window, but that's not unusual. it often fluctuates out of site. My guess it seems like tranny fluid has made it into the engine. I'm no mechanic but my guess is a main seal between engine and tranny has gone bad. .

/ Very high engine oil level #5