Hyd. Top Link

/ Hyd. Top Link #1  

mr.wayne

I have an MX5000 Kubota. I want to put a hyd. top link on it. With the top link all the way in it measures 211/2" and with it all the way out it measures 331/4". All the way out it puts the front cutting edge about 2'' off the ground. Will I need this much in and out or can I shorten this any and still have enough to do what I need? I'm new at this, so bare with me.
Thanks Wayne

/ Hyd. Top Link #2  
Your top link has a 12" stroke. I doubt that you will ever need to go from one extreme to the other. Since you are most likely going to use this with ground engaging equipment, your adjustments will probalby be a few inches to just change the angle of attack.

Remember, the hydraulic top link is not a substitute for the 3pt. You lower the 3pt and make your fine adjustments for angle of attack with the HTL. There may be reasons for going from one extreme to the other but in 3+ years with mine I have never had anything that required amount of adjustment. However, having plenty of adjustment does have some advantages when initially hooking up equipment.

/ Hyd. Top Link
Thanks Mad. So what I'd order is a cylinder with a 12" stroke? I read the threads on different diameter cylinders also. The box blade I have is a 6' with hyd. scarifiers. It weighs around 850 lbs. My top link is cat 1 on tractor end and cat 2 on outer end. What size cylinder do you recommend I get according to this size box blade? I also have about 1 1/4" from the back of the hole to the housing on the tractor. Was thinking maybe a cat 2 on the tractor might fit. This would allow a cat 2 on both ends of the hyd. cylinder. What do you think?
Thanks Wayne

/ Hyd. Top Link #4