Spud bar storage on FEL (Pry bar)

/ Spud bar storage on FEL (Pry bar) #1  

mars1952

Silver Member
Tractor
1999 John Deere 4300 12/12 sync-reverse
Hi Everyone:
I have been storing my spud bar on my FEL for about three years now. The cross member makes a convenient place to store it. I am on my second bungee cord the first one lasted about two years. At first I had a pry bar that was made in China stored there but it was slightly longer than the FEL bucket and I snagged it on a tree one day. I managed to straighten out the pry bar and shortly after that I found an old made in USA pry bar buried next to the corn crib. Who no how long it had been there. I knocked off about a pound of heavy rust and treated it with Rust Cure. It's just the right length and it was free so I'm not too worried about the rust.
Marshall

Attachments

• Pry in FEL 1.jpg
    Pry in FEL 1.jpg
    76.9 KB · Views: 1,285
  • Pry in FEL 2.jpg
    Pry in FEL 2.jpg
    85.2 KB · Views: 1,084
   / Spud bar storage on FEL (Pry bar) #2  
Good idea for location to carry it:D , bad idea using bungee cord:mad: . I would hate to be traveling down the hiway and have that bar meet me coming down the road. Might want to secure with a pin and short piece of chain.

/ Spud bar storage on FEL (Pry bar)
Hi BTDT:
Are you suggesting that I drill a pin hole in the bar? That's easier said than done. I'd probably have to mount it up in the drill press. The bungees have held up well for three years and they cut down on the rattle. I only changed the last one because it was loosing its stretch.
Marshall

BTDT said:
Good idea for location to carry it:D , bad idea using bungee cord:mad: . I would hate to be traveling down the hiway and have that bar meet me coming down the road. Might want to secure with a pin and short piece of chain.

/ Spud bar storage on FEL (Pry bar) #4  
mars1952 said:
Hi BTDT: