555 DTC on slopes

/ 555 DTC on slopes #1  

dginter

Tractor
05' Farmtrac 555 DTC
hi, i'm pretty new to farm tractors... I just got a Farmtrac 555DTC 4WD and I have 50 acres of what i'd call sloped terrain here in KY. I was wondering if anyone has used a 555 bush hogging on 20 degree slopes? I have managed to hog one field sideways (with FEL on) that was a pretty steady 15 degree slope, was a lil nervous but got it done. any info/help is appreciated, Thanks

/ 555 DTC on slopes #2  
I have a 555DTC, but never really hog it on much of a hill. You may want to pull off your inspection cover and check your pinion bolts. Mine have come out twice, but never again as they are tacked in place now. Go back a few pages on this thread and read about my disasters.

/ 555 DTC on slopes
Clint, found your post about the pinion gear bolts. Haven't looked at the parts manual to try n figure this one out yet, but was wondering if you took any pictures? Going out to the farm this weekend n may check that out
Thanks

/ 555 DTC on slopes #4  
butt389_zps19bc85ed.jpg This is the inspection cover by your left foot . You will need to drain a little oil to get it below this level. You can see the bolt backed out, one fell in the 4x4 case and cracked that and the pinion pulled out damaging that. It happened twice. The first time I replaced everything loc tite on bolts and thought I was good. Second time I tacked some small flat stock between the bolts to keep them from moving. Here is a link to a few more
Farmtrac Photos by stelmashuck | Photobucket

/ 555 DTC on slopes
That shows it really well, thanks! what kind of loc-tite did you use, red or blue?

/ 555 DTC on slopes #6