Creating my Food Plot

/ Creating my Food Plot #1  

EddieWalker

Epic Contributor
Tractor
Several, all used and abused.
This is something that I've been working on for over five years and think that I might actually accomplish in the next few months. For those of you unfamiliar with East Texas, it's heavily wooded with pines and hardwoods. My place was extremly thick and almost impossible to walk through.

I pretty much started at the begining and cut openings into the timber with my dozer and backhoe. Then I made those opening bigger and bigger until I had an open area.

I tried to sell the trees, but nobody was interested. I talked to several dozen logging companies with all sorts of replies. Some said they were not interested, others said they would be there on a certain date. None ever showed up. I had a thread going on this back then and found out that Harvey had a friend who wanted some logs. I gave him all he would take!!! Luckily, Harvey was able to come over and help load them up for him.

After that, I started to burn!!!!

Eddie

Attachments

• 1  Early stages of clearing the trees.  2002.jpg
    1 Early stages of clearing the trees. 2002.jpg
    67.6 KB · Views: 515
  • 2  Dozer pushing over pine trees.jpg
    2 Dozer pushing over pine trees.jpg
    101.7 KB · Views: 469
  • 3  Trees piling up on top of my dozer.jpg
    3 Trees piling up on top of my dozer.jpg
    99.6 KB · Views: 423
  • 4  Opening through the trees created by my dozer.jpg
    4 Opening through the trees created by my dozer.jpg
    85.7 KB · Views: 373
  • 5  My Dad pushing downed trees with the dozer and rake.jpg
    5 My Dad pushing downed trees with the dozer and rake.jpg
    94 KB · Views: 414
  • 6  The front area of my pasture is a little clearer.jpg
    6 The front area of my pasture is a little clearer.jpg
    84.1 KB · Views: 390
  • 7  wroughtn_harv helps out. 2003.jpg
    7 wroughtn_harv helps out. 2003.jpg
    67.5 KB · Views: 420