Should I herbicide before no-til??

/ Should I herbicide before no-til?? #1  

HCJtractor

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M6800, Massey Ferguson 240
I am new to no tilling (recently restored a 3 row planter and got a Truax no til drill). I was planning to plant some soybeans and corn this spring, whereas in the past, we always planted fall blends. I checked out our plots and they are beautiful now. The spring rains have really brought out the clover. They are lush. But I assume the grasses and weeds are waiting to emerge.

My question is whether to apply Roundup before I plant. I could (and am tempted) to just plant as is, with no herbicide. There is no old residue and the clover in only 4 or 5 inches high. I hate to kill this clover. What would happen if I drilled corn and beans now without any chemicals?

I also wondered if maybe I should use something other than roundup. I read that Poast will kill grasses but not clover. I have never used any herbicide before.

I will post some pictures of the plots tomorrow.

/ Should I herbicide before no-til?? #2  
Roundup (glyphosate) is a contact weed killer. It kills what is
actively growing, not weed or grass seeds. It will kill your clover
and any grasses currently growing. Typically, it is better to spray
your contact herbicide before planting in case field conditions change
after planting, and you cannot get back into the field to spray. If
your corn or soybeans would sprout and begin growning before getting
your spraying done, then you would also kill the corn or soybeans.
If you do use an herbicide, please follow label directions. I have had
a private pesticide license for over 20 years, and it is amazing that
many folks still think "a little is good, more is better."

Guess it just depends on what your goals are. A good stand of clover
will shade out many weeds and is a good food plot by itself. If there
is little corn or soybeans in the area, then their addition as another
food source would help. Good luck.