Seeder Questions

/ Seeder Questions #1  

Haoleguy

Platinum Member
Tractor
JD 5325; Landini Mistral 50
I'm searching for a seeder that will do alternating cover crops of grass and legumes with the possibility of wildflowers later on 4-5 ft strips 800 ft long over 5 acres. When I look at the used seeder market I see seeders that have a large box without agitator. How important is having an agitator? Also for the legumes is seeding from a larger box present any difficulties? I'm a newbie when it comes to seeders but I understand that the smaller legume seed box that meters lower rates is preferred with seeders but I rarely see these on the used market in the 4-5 ft width hence my question about doing legume seeding from larger box...Thank you, Gary

/ Seeder Questions #2  
Here's the deal with "spinner" type seeders. Seed like orchardgrass, fescue, ryegrass, etc will "bridge" in the hopper and not feed out consistintly without a agitater or stirrer because they are "fluffy". Small seed like clover, alfalfa. turnips, only need a few pounds per acre so a seeder with a very small setting is needed. Resist the temptation to sow different seed types/sizes together. I.E, orchardgrass and clover. The different densities make them spread at differant widths, clover make go to 20ft and orchardgrass may go only 12-15ft. You get streaks. Drill type seeders have multiple seed boxes for planting more than one seed size at the same time. Some may even have "native grass boxes" Another advantage of a "drill" type is more accurate seed depth placement, and another in less passes over the field. But they are more expensive and take a larger tractor to pull them. I have used a 10ft Tye brand and a 10ft Great Plains brand on several 100 acres of pasture and hay with good success. Don't turn with the drill down(in the ground), many parts will be needed as a result.

/ Seeder Questions #3