Ford 8 N Marvel Schebler carb floods

/ Ford 8 N Marvel Schebler carb floods #1  

gwakenhut

Tractor
Ford 8N
I am a novice when it comes to engines. I have worked with a local mechanic who has worked on 8 Ns, but he has been unable to solve the following problem. He has rebuilt the carb, and we also changed the plugs. They were in need of change, but that failed to improve the following starting problem.

When I try to start my 8 N, it will almost start on the first roll over. However, when it fires, it sounds like it is getting too much gas, and the firing will continue for 15 sec. and then firing ceases while the engine continues to roll over. If I try to roll it over again, it will fire less frequently and gas will run out where the air filter tube connects to the carb.

If I let it set for 15 min. and try again, it will come closer to starting, but again, it sounds like it is receiving too much fuel. Sometimes I can keep it in this half started state for 15 to 30 sec. by jiggling the choke until it finally quits firing.

I have succeeded in starting it by almost closing the needle valve. When it begins to run with the needle valve alomost closed down, it again sounds like it is receiving too much fuel but better than before. It will also run longer before stalling. However, if I don't quickly reach down and open the valve, it stalls.

Once it starts, and i open the valve, it runs like a brand new tractor.

If you have any suggestions, I will pass them on to my mechanic.

Thanks for your time.
Gary

/ Ford 8 N Marvel Schebler carb floods #2  
the ms carb is pretty basic.. if it's flooding out, check the needle seats.. ..

also.. check spark.. weak spark can cause starting problems...

soundguy

/ Ford 8 N Marvel Schebler carb floods
I will check these out. Thanks, Gary

/ Ford 8 N Marvel Schebler carb floods #4