mechanic needs help

/ mechanic needs help #1  

holmes1442

Tractor
farmall super c
I am a mechanic at small shop that repairs everything from lawnmowerers to automobiles. I love old tractors and am in the middle of a restoration on my super c, but that is not my problem. I have a customers 51 8n here that i have replaced plugs, wires, rotor, cap, points, manifold, coil, and a lot of wiring. Carberator has also been rebuilt and we are still having a problem with it running properly, seems to flood out unless the fuel filter is almost empty and it doesnt like to rev up to max rpm. It runs sweet once it does but cant figure why it is hit or miss as to when it will run right. Help!?

/ mechanic needs help #2  
Distributor bearings? Plugged breather in carb float bowl? Bad float or float valve? :confused2:

/ mechanic needs help #3  
:welcome:

/ mechanic needs help #4  
I am a mechanic at small shop that repairs everything from lawnmowerers to automobiles. I love old tractors and am in the middle of a restoration on my super c, but that is not my problem. I have a customers 51 8n here that i have replaced plugs, wires, rotor, cap, points, manifold, coil, and a lot of wiring. Carberator has also been rebuilt and we are still having a problem with it running properly, seems to flood out unless the fuel filter is almost empty and it doesnt like to rev up to max rpm. It runs sweet once it does but cant figure why it is hit or miss as to when it will run right. Help!?

What is the plug color?

/ mechanic needs help #6  
external add on fuel filters are a constant source of problem if the wrong type is used.

flooding out means float is not correct.. or the needle / seat is not correct.

that's no mystery.

once you address that.. manually goos carb butterfly to see what rpm you can get.

does gov pull back even with throttle set to max?

is throttle and springs and linkage at the gov adjusted to book spec? remember.. no preload or slack on the springs.