Need help identifying this problem...

/ Need help identifying this problem... #1  

SmallTownCraftsman

Tractor
2021 Kubota L2501
I have a 1950 8N that I an repainting. Admittedly, I am no mechanic and I have never done anything like this before. I have parts mostly stripped off and I am prepping for the paint job. Today I noticed water leaking from the engine block. I have attached a picture. It was not leaking before, but I think I must have done it while stripping paint. It was pretty rusty. Anyway, could someone please tell me what that little round thing is in the engine block (there are four of them). Is this a major repair or something a novice like myself could do? Any guidance would be appreciated.

IMG_0294.jpg

/ Need help identifying this problem... #2  
freeze plug,, knock it out and replace it.. on that model it's time.. Lou

/ Need help identifying this problem...
Thanks Lou. I appreciate your helpful response.

/ Need help identifying this problem... #4  
Just to help you out, they're call Welch Plugs and there is somewhat of a technique for installing them.

The objective is to flatten the Welch plug so that it spreads out and jams in the hole:
1. Ensure the plug receptacle in the block is squeaky clean.
2. Coat the block with Loc-Tite and insert the plug. Permatex Form-A-Gasket #1 is a suitable alternate.
3. Use two ball peen hammers - One as a buck to achieve a flat hammer strike.
4. The edges of an installed plug may be staked to improve retention.
5. Again, the goal should be an installed plug that is visually flat.
6. Use brass Welch plugs if you can find them. They are 1 3/16" diameter.

While you're at it, it's a fair bet the other plugs are in the same state of rusting out - So may as well do all of them.

BIGflattened-in-block.jpg

Correct

InstalledIncorrectly.jpg

Incorrect