Scotts S2554....?

/ Scotts S2554....? #1  

CentralVA

Hello all...

I've got a five acre farmlet, with about 4.5 acres mowable lawn/pasture. I've been looking around for info on small tractors and the Scotts tractors (sold by Home Depot) got my attention because they're made by Deere, but go for a lot less money.

The S2554 (25 hp 2 cylinder Kohler engine, 54" deck, PTO) goes for about $4000 in my neck of the woods.

Info can be found here:

http://customer.deere.com/en_US/scotts/intro.htm

I'd appreciate any opinions anyone might have about this machine....

CentralVA

/ Scotts S2554....? #2  
CentralVA,

I have no working knowledge about this tractor, but I have been around a few forums and folks have been generally quite happy with their 2554 purchases.

The 2554 compares most closely with John Deere's
SABRE line. The John Deere, John Deere's (YELLOW and GREEN) are a bit heftier in both build quality and price.

Go to the Garden.web forums under tractors and do a search on 2554. There is quite a bit of information there on that particular model.

Not to throw you a curve ball, but you have a rather sizable area to mow. Have you considered a ZTR (zero turn radius) mower. If mowing is your primary objective, there are plenty of models that will do the trick very quickly. Toro has a nice unit that is a bit more than the 2554, but might be worth the look

Also, PowerMax (a TBN member) has a terriffic tractor package for sale that you might want to consider. It appears to be in better than new condition.

<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.tractorbynet.com/cgi-bin/compact/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=lawn&Number=120810&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=&fpart=>http://www.tractorbynet.com/cgi-bin/compact/showflat.pl?Cat=&Board=lawn&Number=120810&page=0&view=collapsed&sb=5&o=&fpart=</A>

/ Scotts S2554....? #3  
CentralVa

I believe 4.5 acres on a lawn or garden tractor would be a hand full. Not only would it be hard on you but on the tractor also.