Vintage or newer Garden Tractor?

/ Vintage or newer Garden Tractor? #1  

nhdude

So, I'm a total newbie to garden tractors... but, I'm looking to buy a tractor primarily for snow removal on my long driveway but also to mow the lawn which is a fairly steep hill. Limited budget so have been looking in the $1500 range for used units. So far, I've looked at a couple of older tractors with the mower and snowblower attachments... a Cub Cadet 982 and a Gravely 16-G, both in very nice condition. I realize that these are somewhat vintage products so am a bit concerned about reliability and parts though I'm impressed by the build quality. The other candidate is a 10 year old Cub Cadet 2165 with only 100 hours. It seems fine though not as heavily built as the others. But, suspect parts are more available and maybe it's has better components less likely to fail when I need to move all that snow? Would really appreciate the thoughts and advice of those with knowledge and experience. Thanks!

Last edited:
   / Vintage or newer Garden Tractor? #2  
On your budget amount I don't think your gonna find anything but entry level light duty stuff in the new stuff. The 982 and the 16G were top of the line in their day heavy duty machines for sure. For me it's a no brainer,, I'd take either of those two you listed over any new machine as long as they were not in a badly abused state,, and if they were I'd keep shopping. The newest machine I use is an AC 5020 it's a 1984, bought it new, I also have a 1983 Bolens ST 160, and a 1975 Gravely Com 12,,, no need for that expensive shinny stuff. I got the Bolens and the Gravely free for the taking,, I did have to do some fixing as the Bolens was run till it couldn't run no more, and the Gravely had sat under a shed with a bad roof and hadn't been run for years by the looks of things.

/ Vintage or newer Garden Tractor? #3