60" Woods finish mower question

/ 60" Woods finish mower question #1  

buckeyepost

Bronze Member
I have an older 60" Woods finish mower like the one pictured below. I know these things aren't meant to go through a lot of grass and I am still learning about them but it seems to bog down really easily. I popped the belt cover off to look at things and there was a lot of dead grass in there so I cleaned it up but since my tractor isn;t running right now I don't know if that fixed it. How tight should the belt be? And, I noticed that on the longest run of the belt (closest to the tractor) between the two furthest pulleys the belt had been flipped over so that it has a twist in it. Is that how it should be?

Attachments

• woods_finishingmower.jpg
    woods_finishingmower.jpg
    159.5 KB · Views: 4,196
   / 60" Woods finish mower question #2  
I dont own one of these but I would think a flipped belt is wrong. Do a search on the net for a owners manuel, or if there is a near by dealer stop and look at a book. It will show you.

On bogging down - is your tractor pto rated for that size mower? A build up of wet grass in the under deck can cause that also. After mowing a half hour, shut of the tractor and feel the bearing hubs on the mower deck. Warm is OK, hot is not.

/ 60" Woods finish mower question #3  
Hi there-
I use a Woods RM59 as one would use a brush hog. It is a light mower for light tractors and it's nice and close to keep the front end of the tractor on the ground. The belt is almost indestructable with less than 30 HP if you pay any attention at all to its tension. There's a tensioner assembly under the end guard 3/4 inch nut if I recall. I regularly reshape the deck backing up to stuff (rocks mostly) to mow over them. Belt routing is on a decal inside the main guard. In general- a handy pc of equipment!

/ 60" Woods finish mower question #4