What is your best tasting tomato of this year's crop?

/ What is your best tasting tomato of this year's crop? #1  

JDgreen227

Tractor
4210 MFWD Ehydro--'89 JD 318
This year I planted four Burpee Brandy Boy Hybrid sets, a beefsteak type I have never tried to grow before. They are rather ugly to look at, but the taste is amazing. A thin skin, combined with easy slicing and a very sweet and mild flavor....have given many of them away and people want to know what they are and ask for more. I planted the sets at the end of May, and they ARE STILL FLOWERING, despite the intense heat and drought of this summer. I doubt if these are worth a d*** for canning, but who cares? :laughing:

/ What is your best tasting tomato of this year's crop? #2  
I planted bunches of Amish Paste, They have a very good flavor.

Your Beefsteak will can just fine, great for making sauce also.

/ What is your best tasting tomato of this year's crop? #3  
I'll agree with the hybrid beefsteak varieties. Ugly, yes, but the best tomatoes we have ever grown. Next year we plan to cut back on the early season tomatoes and concentrate on the long maturity beefsteak types. Amish paste and Oxheart did well too. Oh, I'll add that the smaller Juliette (a mini Amish paste) seems to do great every year. Others ought to consider them.

/ What is your best tasting tomato of this year's crop? #4  
What brand of seeds are you guys using?
Our tomato season is short as it gets too hot around May and the heat and humidity promote fungus and well you get the idea....it becomes clear that they were not meant to grow under those conditions.
We need a fast growing plant.

/ What is your best tasting tomato of this year's crop? #5  
The Organic Roma's that we planted from Johnnys seeds are great and have produced quite well.

Sent from my iPad using TractorByNet

/ What is your best tasting tomato of this year's crop? #6