gardening with poo?

/ gardening with poo? #1  

mikehaugen

Elite Member
Tractor
John Deere 1070
I just plowed my garden with a 2-bottom about a week ago. I am now wishing that I would have put manure down before hand. Would there be anything wrong with putting it down now and just leaving it on the surface until spring? In the spring I will probably till it with a walk-behind tiller. I have people around me with a variety of animals that I could probably get manure from... cows, horses, goats, pigs. I have heard that pig manure is the worst, but what is the best from the rest of the choices? Thanks.

By the way, I am fairly new to gardening but so far I have been trying to grow swwet corn, tomatoes, cucumbers, watermelon, pumpkins and other vegetables.

/ gardening with poo? #2  
You'll get a variety of opinions, but of course, put the manure on and then let it winter over. That's exactly what we do. Disc it up in spring. Perfect. Chicken/rabbit is the best manure and I'd rate horse at the bottom, given that weeds tend to pass through a horse, in our experience.

View attachment 284581

/ gardening with poo? #3  
I've heard that leaving the manure on top will allow ultra violet to go to work on pathogens and possibly allow exposed seeds to sprout be killed when you disc it later on.

/ gardening with poo? #4  
Since you are new to gardening, you might want to get a soil test first to see where your N-P-K levels and pH level is at on your garden site.

/ gardening with poo?
Since you are new to gardening, you might want to get a soil test first to see where your N-P-K levels and pH level is at on your garden site.