Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
    Silver Member
    Tractor
    BX25D

Default New Dewalt Cordless String Trimmer

I am thinking about buying one of these (we call all string trimmers "weed-eaters" around here):

This would compliment my Stihl FS 130. It is great but a little cumbersome for quickly trimming around the house. Lowes is having a special right now where if you buy the trimmer for $299 (comes with a battery and charger), you get a mail-in-rebate for a free extra battery.

Shop Cordless Electric String Trimmers at Lowes.com

Amazon.com: DEWALT DCST990H1 Max XR String Trimmer, 40-volt: Patio, Lawn & Garden

DCST990H1 40V MAX* Lithium Ion XR Brushless 15

Default Re: New Dewalt Cordless String Trimmer

I've no experience with them, but if my 10 year old Stihl FS 55 ever dies I intend to buy a battery powered trimmer and that one sounds like what I'd want. Of course, my old Stihl may outlive me.

And yep, I reckon Weedeater was the brand of the first ones and I've had corded electric Weedeaters many years ago. Sometimes a brand name goes generic? Like Kleenex for facial tissue, Weedeater for string trimmers, and some others. To my Mother, all motorhomes were Winnebagos.
    Bird

Platinum Member
    Tractor
    2006 New Holland TC45A, 2011 Kubota L5740 HSTC-3

Being in the lawn care business, I'm interested in these also. Here is a link to a thread in my lawn care forum with a recent and ongoing review of this equipment. New tools

For a little background, the guy who started the thread (Marcsmith) is the groundskeeper at Georgetown University in Washington DC, so he has lots of experience with this type of equipment.
    Certified Commercial Applicator since 1982

Elite Member
    Tractor
    John Deere 4100 HST /410 FEL, R4s

Looks like a cordless trimmer is something I eventually want to have too. And maybe a chainsaw unit.