New Dewalt Cordless String Trimmer

/ New Dewalt Cordless String Trimmer #1  

walker450

Platinum Member
Tractor
M5040, BX25D, F2880, ZD1211, GR2120
I am thinking about buying one of these (we call all string trimmers "weed-eaters" around here):

DCST990H1_1_500X500.jpg

This would compliment my Stihl FS 130. It is great but a little cumbersome for quickly trimming around the house. Lowes is having a special right now where if you buy the trimmer for $299 (comes with a battery and charger), you get a mail-in-rebate for a free extra battery.

Shop Cordless Electric String Trimmers at Lowes.com

Amazon.com: DEWALT DCST990H1 Max XR String Trimmer, 40-volt: Patio, Lawn & Garden

DCST990H1 40V MAX* Lithium Ion XR Brushless 15

/ New Dewalt Cordless String Trimmer #2  
I've no experience with them, but if my 10 year old Stihl FS 55 ever dies I intend to buy a battery powered trimmer and that one sounds like what I'd want. Of course, my old Stihl may outlive me.

And yep, I reckon Weedeater was the brand of the first ones and I've had corded electric Weedeaters many years ago. Sometimes a brand name goes generic? Like Kleenex for facial tissue, Weedeater for string trimmers, and some others. To my Mother, all motorhomes were Winnebagos.:laughing:

/ New Dewalt Cordless String Trimmer #3  
Being in the lawn care business, I'm interested in these also. Here is a link to a thread in my lawn care forum with a recent and ongoing review of this equipment. New tools

For a little background, the guy who started the thread (Marcsmith) is the groundskeeper at Georgetown University in Washington DC, so he has lots of experience with this type of equipment.

/ New Dewalt Cordless String Trimmer #4  
Looks like a cordless trimmer is something I eventually want to have too. And maybe a chainsaw unit.