Old JD 214, good or bad???

/ Old JD 214, good or bad??? #1  

Kyle_in_Tex

Super Star Member
Tractor
JD 4310,JD5420
I have the opportunity to buy a trade in 214 Lawn Tractor. I'm not sure of the year but these were built from around 1975- 1982 or so. I have no experience with these but it has a 14 Hp Kohler, variable speed lever and a decent looking deck. It looks a lot heavier duty than what is sold at Home Depot and Wally world.

I guess what I should ask is, Is there anything that would wear out that would cost more to fix than its worth? Tranny, differential, etc???

The dealer wants about $700 as they are putting on a new fuel pump.

/ Old JD 214, good or bad??? #2  
I think he is a little stiff on the price. I bought a 210 for $300.00 and it was a clean one owner machine. The problem spot on the 200 series machines was the variator. The center sheave (that moves back and forth to control speed) will wear into the center of the fixed sheave. They are pretty pricey to replace. Sometimes a well placed drop of oil into the sheave will help the situation without sheave replacement, but if it has worn too far, they would need to be replaced. Make sure also that there is not a lot of play in the steering. Steering worms are not cheap ether. /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

/ Old JD 214, good or bad???
Thanks for the info. Is there an easy way to check the center sheave without taking it apart? Or what should I check while test driving it?

/ Old JD 214, good or bad??? #4