International Harvester Cub Cadet 782

/ International Harvester Cub Cadet 782 #1  

fishman

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B2910; Kubota T1670
Well I bought a nifty old garden tractor and need some advice. It's a IH cub cadet 782 in pretty good shape (see picture). It was made in 1980-81 and is hydrostatic, with hydraulic deck lift, electric pto, and shaft drive.

Problem is, as you can also see in the picture, the engine came in a box. It's a Kohler series II model # KT17, 17 hp twin. One of the connecting rods broke and messed up the cylinder. I was told that this engine had already been rebuilt once. I've heard good things about older Kohlers and want to know if this engine is worth rebuilding/saving as it is the original engine for this tractor. At a bare minimum it will need a new cylinder, piston, and rod and probably a lot of other stuff too. I'm not a great mechanic, or really even a good one, but I don't think this is out of my league.

Other choices include new or used engines, and it seems to me I've even heard of some small diesels suitable as replacements for garden tractor engines.

Basically, any advice or comments would be welcomed.

Attachments

• IHCC.JPG
    IHCC.JPG
    83.3 KB · Views: 10,496
   / International Harvester Cub Cadet 782 #2  
The tractor itself is very much worth restoring! The Kohler engine is something I can't be of much help on as I have never rebuilt a KT17. But I'm sure someone will be along with more info on the motor. If the idea of repowering it with a new motor is acceptable to you , check out www.smallenginewarehouse.com for some info on what might work.

/ International Harvester Cub Cadet 782 #3  
John,

Nice catch. I have a 782 here that I'm planning on restoring one of these days if I can ever get around to it. I wish mine were in as good a shape as yours cosmetically.