Case 400 Diesel: to buy or not to buy

/ Case 400 Diesel: to buy or not to buy #1  

jkhinch

Hi! I'm considering a Case 400 Diesel with a loader. Rubber all looks new, and it visually looks well maintained. However - this is a long distance auction. Auction details say there's no battery but the tractor runs when push started. Of course I have no idea how the auction will end, but I've got a feeling I'll be able to pick this up pretty cheap...any thoughts on what you might expect something like this to cost today?

PS. My purchase goals, other than runs & cheap are loader for firewood and the ability to mow with a 3pt. I'm in Michigan, so it does get cold in the winter. Any comments are appreciated as I am new at this! Josh

Last edited:
   / Case 400 Diesel: to buy or not to buy #2  
Hi! I'm considering a Case 400 Diesel with a loader. Rubber all looks new, and it visually looks well maintained. However - this is a long distance auction. Auction details say there's no battery but the tractor runs when push started. Of course I have no idea how the auction will end, but I've got a feeling I'll be able to pick this up pretty cheap...any thoughts on what you might expect something like this to cost today?

PS. My purchase goals, other than runs & cheap are loader for firewood and the ability to mow with a 3pt. I'm in Michigan, so it does get cold in the winter. Any comments are appreciated as I am new at this! Josh

That 400 was made between 1955-59 so it's pretty old iron. You need to get it running before you make an offer. Don't rely on someone's word that it will run with a push start. If there's a problem with the high pressure fuel injection pump, repairs or replacement could run into big bucks.

Check it out in all the gears and be sure the loader hydraulics work.

TractorData says that 400 came with the Case Eagle hitch. See this link for details on that hitch

Yesterday's Tractors - Discussion Forum