Ferguson Wheels/Rims Rusted out - can they be repa

/ Ferguson Wheels/Rims Rusted out - can they be repa #1  

dourobob

Platinum Member
Tractor
Wheel Horse 522xi
I have a 1952 Ferguson TEA 2085 with 11.2 X 28 back tires and it is limping badly. Today I was attempting to put air in one of the tires and the whole valve came out in my hand - fluid all over the ground. The rims look pretty rusty to the eye but I am hoping they can be repaired. Any tips on what to look for when checking for soundness of the rest of the rim? Should a good welder (I am hoping a friend of mine will try this 'cause I am just starting to learn about this welding stuff) be able to cut out pieces and replace them on a rim like this. Am I just asking for more trouble than it is worth and should I just buy new rims (or sound used rims) if I can find them?

Thanks for any ideas.

Douro Bob

/ Ferguson Wheels/Rims Rusted out - can they be repa #2  
You can repair anything given enough time and money. Is it feasible, probably not. I would buy new rims if I was working the tractor. You can move over to new metal and drill a new hole for the valve stem but I bet the wheel is rotten all the way around. Pull the tire and sandblast the wheel and see how much is left. You might not want to have to repay the favor if it takes you friend a month to fix your old wheels!

/ Ferguson Wheels/Rims Rusted out - can they be repa #3